Thousands of Years of Tradition

June 22, 2008 at 11:54 am 1 comment

This shabbos was a long one, and I got to sit and learn for much of the afternoon. I learned some Aruch Hashulchan and a bit of Masechet Ketubot, and of course, much of that was about jewish marriage. As I read, I could see how my married sisters had ceremonies that were remarkably similar to those described in the Talmud Bavli. There were differences. My sisters opted to include the RCA pre-nuptual agreement (and I hope more and more people will follow their example) . One of them gave her husband a ring as a gift (but was careful to wait until they were married to do so). But for the most part, much of the ceremony was the same.

Sometimes I feel lucky that, as a lesbian, I have the opportunity to take part in developing my own ritual. It’s not something we do all the time in the Orthodox community. Some people who choose to marry according to the traditional framework have deep difficulties with it. They worry, as I often do, that the ceremony is unbalanced, and structures the relationship along gender lines in ways that are disturbing. The man is the only one who can initiate the marriage, and, g-d forbid, a divorce.

But this shabbos, when I was looking at the tradition from up close, at all the different components of it, and the deep meanings behind them, I could not bring myself to celebrate my exclusion from this ceremony. I love the chuppah, the badeikin, the blessings, the communal celebration.

On some level, I just love that a jewish wedding is such an old tradition. We don’t just wake up one morning and recreate everything that it means to be in a committed loving relationship. Instead, we enter into the sort of agreement that we have watched our mothers and their mothers enter with their spouses. It is holy, reflective of the couple’s relationship to one another, their people, and g-d. They hardly even need to be conscious of it.

Personally, I feel a little bit lost, trying to figure out a way to navigate a queer wedding that is faithful to the tradition and able to create and describe the sort of relationship I want to enter into. I know that for me as a queer person, along with the usual questions of “who to marry” or “when to marry”, I must add “whether to marry” and “how to marry”.

I’m not the first to ask these questions, and I hope I will not be the last. I know that I have a lot of learning to do.

Posted by queeryeshivameidel

Entry filed under: Halacha, Living in the Orthodox World, Marriage & Commitment, Personal Stories, Ritual, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Bat-Kol Article in Haaretz

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kerr  |  July 30, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    As queer non-frum semi-Jew, I’ve often both wrestled with and celebrated the freedom I have to decide what my relationships will look like—what parts of my tradition(s) I will faithfully reflect, and which new traditions I will make for myself, perhaps to pass to others. But it is also often hard to create new ways of doing all the time, and I find myself longing, for instance, to be able to make a home with my partner and share our lives in traditional ways. I don’t know if that’s right for us, particularly, but it seems restful to me. Sometimes I’m drawn to doing the harder thing just because it’s harder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Tirtzah

We are a community of frum queer women who gather to celebrate and study our yiddishkeit. We are committed to the value of shleimut (wholeness) and to supporting one another in observing a meaningful, integrated, honest and joyful Jewish life.

Categories


